All These Things...

By Joestockdale

A Winter Afternoon At Martindale

I decided to head up Hallin as the light in the afternoon is always fantastic up there. On my way out the skies began to clear up, I took that as a good sign and I wasn't wrong, such wonderful weather. I came across a Kestrel hovering for pray, it didn't seem to bothered by my approach, but when I got too close it flew of down into the valley. When I reached the top there was a group of youngsters doing an Outward bound course, none of them seemed all that pleased to be out in the snow on top of a fell. One of them called me mad and another asked how I managed to carry 'that' (tripod) all the way up. I smiled, laughed and carried on my way... oh you city dwelling folk!

I took this photo half way up the fell, I had to make it a 3 shot HDR as to keep the snow white enough in the foreground and the sky nicely exposed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.