Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Beginnings and Endings

Here's Frank on One Street, at Ken's Artisan Bakery, which I've blipped before. I had hoped to catch him unaware as he was paying for our coffee and rolls, but he turned around and saw me with the camera and flashed his priceless smile. Today Frank goes on to Seattle and our visit ends, but the whole visit has been a beginning of a new friendship: who we are at 67, remembering who we were at 25-30, reflecting on where we have traveled since then, moving into new territory, looking forward to incorporating Martha next time.

Yesterday I got an email from my friend in Lesotho, describing M'e Mpho's funeral this past Saturday. He writes, "lots of vigorous songs and wonderful polyrhythmic drumming, clapping, and dinging of bells. It was truly joyous." Just as it should have been. I wish I could have been there, but he was asked to make a speech on my behalf, and he says he told them "how Kendall recognized M's love for her church and that she adored being all of a whirl, and then how she could place her hand on K's head and know exactly how she was feeling and what she was thinking. Ended by saying she was a woman of great wisdom and great heart. One of the grandsons translated." I will leave tea for her in my cup for the rest of my life, and I will miss her dearly.

Today's also the beginning of a new Blip journal, LaurieT, my good friend here in Portland and TerriG's partner. If you have time, drop in and say hello.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.