Carry on

As the University is closing most of its premises imminently, I went into the office to pick up some books that I don't fancy doing without for the next few months. I hope I got the right ones. I took photos of the others, just in case I need reminding what else there is. I have three writing projects for the next few months. I think that I can probably manage with what I've got, plus online resources. That's assuming I will be shut out from my office for the duration. I think I have to make that assumption.

To avoid the bus, I walked to work (also to get the steps/exercise), stopping at various shops picking up some bits. The happiest moment was scoring some spelt flour in Jordan Valley. Even Mr A came over enthusiastic when I sent him a text about it. After picking up my stuff and speaking to L on the phone, I came back here by taxi. Whilst I was out Mr A had called his friend L in York, who has recently had a hip replacement, so it pretty much housebound for that reason as well. Of course, being out also got me my blip. It's not normally this quiet when you cross the Canongate at around 11.30am on a Wednesday in March. I actually took loads of pictures today, so if need be I might come back and use some of them to avoid the tedium of indoor pictures (when it comes to that...). I know it will be cheating, but I think it's important to use blip to share things constructively, within the spirit of the rules.

We're making sure we're doing healthy stuff here. Not too healthy, though. We had an excellent crumble as part of our tea. We don't normally have a pudding, but there were some plums that needed eating up, so I persuaded Mr A that would be the best use. After all, crumble is an essential food group isn't it? But other than that, we fired up the Berlin Philarmonic Digital Concert Hall after dinner and watched a 2017 performance of Haydn's Creation, which always brings back memories of school Speech Days in St George's Hall Bradford to me, as "The Heavens are Telling" was one of the things we were regularly required to perform. We've also identified a few other things we want to watch/listen to, including on youtube, and I've just been looking at the things that the BBC is proposing to offer us over the coming period. There will be plenty of reasons to visit iplayer.

Funnily enough, now that things are looking clearer I'm feeling much less bothered and anxious. I wish there was more I could do to help, but it seems the best contribution I can make is simply to be a good citizen and keep my distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.