A Winter Morning's Pink Dawn

It's been a cold week in central Pennsylvania. Some days the temperature doesn't get any higher than it was at sunrise.

We had a skiff of snow overnight, which left us with just a coating of snow. Less than an inch, and it was all soft and sparkly. What I think of as a powdered sugar snow. The magic kind.

I stopped along this rural road I know and love to take some pictures. On one side are houses (including a house I almost bought back in 2004, when I was looking to buy my first home), but on the other side is a farmer's field. There are no cows there now, just broken fences and open spaces.

I got there just as the sun was coming up. The sunrise lit the clouds pink. I particularly enjoyed how the pink clouds sort of . . . gently wrapped themselves around the top of the barn.

The song to accompany this picture is one I love: In the Bleak Midwinter. You can search for it on Youtube, and you will find many lovely versions (including the Annie Lennox version I posted with a prior blip). The link I'm posting today is to a version performed by Sissel, a singer from Norway with the voice of an angel. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.