An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy Birthday Rabbie!

......

So much been happening here I don't know where to begin!

First of all Doc saw Alan this morning and thinks he might have tonsilitis. Can't be sure as Alan refused to open his mouth to let him check. His chest is clear though so that's good. Milder dose of antibiotics this time so hopefully they won't upset his stomach.

Next got a phone call from Rachel at the management company to say the lovely guy we interviewed last week for the Carer post for Alan is delighted to accept the offer of the job that we made this morning. Woo hoo :-)) Need to meet with Rachel next week to draw up training and induction programme.

Then we got an email to say there's a woman interested in buying the surplus furniture from our house move so finally getting rid of a spare 3 pc suite, kitchen table and chairs and dining room suite. :-))

AND we have finally decided on wallpaper for the big lounge. Saw it online on Wednesday. Told the Interior Design Lady and she got the manufacturer to send us samples, which arrived yesterday (fantastic service!). Narrowed it down to two and now we have reached a final decision. Thankfully we both agree!

The snow is piling down here and has been all day. Hmmmm.....wondering if we will get to the Burn's Supper tomorrow night.

Talking of Burns.....Happy Birthday Rabbie! Today is our National Bard's 254th Birthday so my Blip today had to be the oldest book we own (which also happens to be one of my favourites). It's the Entire Works of Robert Burns with his Life and a Ctiticism on his Writings by James Currie MD. It was published in 1833 and originally belonged to David's Great Great Grandfather.

It is only about 4inches in length and the print is miniscule. It's been well thumbed though and I can only assume those who read from it in the past, did so with the aid of a magnifying glass! It is full of the most exquisite illustrations. I love to hold it and imagine all the hands that have held it before me. And I love that it was published a mere 37 years after he died. A lovely piece of family history.

Robert Burns wrote some of the most beautiful poetry I have ever read and much of it moves me to tears. Tomorrow night I am meant to be delivering the Immortal Memory at a Burns Supper and I haven't even started writing it yet. Not because I have nothing to say, but because there is so much I could say, I don't know where to begin!

But I need to get on with it. Maybe after dinner a wee single malt will help get my creative juices flowing?

Happy Friday Blip Pals...have a fantastic weekend. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.