Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Can't see the house for the snow.

My daily routine was interrupted today by a plumber. Such outside contact has been rare for me these past few days and I was devastated that my scheduled Time Team marathon would have to be disturbed for the sake of a toilet.

I spent the time leading up to his arrival in the kitchen, anxiously watching the driveway while I practised all the different ways I could offer someone a cup of tea. And then I got to thinking, why do I have to make them a cup of tea? I know it's some time old tradition to do with hospitality, but when you really think about it, this man was coming into my house, disturbing my Time Team marathon.

Surely I'd be in the right to just carry on watching Time Team, only interacting with this strange man when I bellow "MAKE ME A BREW!" when he's in the kitchen. "AND DON'T MAKE YOURSELF ONE BECAUSE WE'RE RUNNING OUT OF MILK AND I'LL PROBABLY WANT CEREAL IN A BIT!".

In the end he turned off the water supply, so neither of us could have a brew. He said that he needed to do it to fix the bog, but I reckon it was because he was exceptionally socially aware and noticed I was wanting to just watch Time Team and that by turning off the water he knew he wouldn't have to put me in the awkward predicament of offering tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.