In The Limelight

I was in the office today, so TT gave me a lift.  I  “volunteered” to work in another team, and today was my work shadowing day, before I am let loose.  TT drove me in.  The roads were very quiet and it took no time at all.  I was early, so I planned to go to my desk and do a bit of work, until I realised that I had left my notebook at home.  It was eerily quiet, as there was no-one around any of our areas.  There were people working in the building, but not in my area.  I went off in search of my “new team” at the appointed time and spent the rest of the day with them, finding out what goes on and what my role will be.  My first proper day will be next week, which may be a bit daunting.  Anyway it was good to be doing something completely different, with real people.  The downside is that I was in a windowless room – but I guess you can’t have everything.

At lunchtime I texted the boys to see how they were.  TT was on a conference call, and BB replied, “I am trying to work” – so that was me told.  TT messaged me later to say he had watched the video sent by BB’s cello teacher and had attempted to sort his cello and tune it.  BB still isn’t very happy with it – but at least he can play it now. He should have been sitting a grade exam today, then playing in the school spring concert this evening.

TT came and picked me up.  We had to pick up a couple of things from the supermarket on the way home.  A different supermarket from last night, so a different regime, and I had to wait to get in.  There weren’t many people in the store, and it was almost a pleasure, even though it still had empty shelves, it felt a little better stocked than previously.

Once home, I went out for a walk – my daily exercise, while TT sorted out tea. These swans were out of the water, lit up by the lights that illuminate the bridge at night.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.