Scenery from a mission of mercy

After not getting out of the house, other than a bit of gardening and putting the bins out, for over 2 weeks it was good to get the bike out.
Marlane had a lot of stuff that Johanna needed now for Eric so with both Panniers and the Top Box stuffed with baby clothes, nappies, changing mat, and for Ruby some bigger clothes and jelly babies, off I set on the 40 minute journey to Cinderford in the Forest of Dean.
I did mean to take my Lumix camera but only remembered when I was on my way. I know there is some stunning scenery but I had to make do with the Samsung phone camera.
Top is close to Johanna and Lukes cottage and showing the River Severn meandering around a large piece of land. There is a huge Oxbow which is hidden in the centre. The river is still tidal at this point and for another few miles until it reaches Gloucester. It's this tidal element that enabled, and still does enable, Gloucester to be Englands most inland harbour.
The other two photographs are the stuff I took, put on the doorstep so it can be retrieved when I'm gone (taking no chances), and the carrier of the stuff. Plus my bike of course.
I didn't feel guilty about going out, I was solitary and although there was hardly any traffic around on the normally busy route I made sure I didn't get complacent about safety, just in case anyone coming out of a junction did!
It was a mercy mission, not a joy ride, although I must admit I did enjoy it.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g2UrRWhrfjI

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.