pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

In search of colour

I had a belting run last night, achieving a personal best and just three seconds away from reaching my desired goal of being under twenty-six minutes for a 5K. 

I don’t know if it was because of this or because I had a long overdue chat with a good friend last night or because my head has been swimming in music for the last few days, but I woke up today feeling fantastic and ready to take on the day.

It probably doesn’t hurt that I am signing off work for a few days to spend some quality time with my youngest children and will then be recuperating from said quality time. It is tinged with a little sadness as we were meant to be heading South to visit my family, but that’s been nipped in the bud. I forget why….

Having had a busy morning, wanting a rest day from running and tiring of the aul’ grey skies over the aul’ grey town, plugging my headphones in to listen to my new favourite playlist, I set off for a wander in search of some colour.

Unfortunately, the greatest abundance of colour I was able to find was in a graveyard, which I felt was a little maudlin and not reflective of my good mood, so I opted instead for this close up of some daffs standing tall and proud on Kendal Castle hill.

Continuing on my way and trying desperately hard not to sing out too loud, I was nearly mown down by some little punk on a scooter, but it turned out that the little punk in question was my youngest who flung herself at me for a cuddle and was closely followed by m’boy who did the same before proceeding to tell me everything that was wrong with his little sister.

It was an unexpected bonus to a lovely walk, which was capped off on my return home by rediscovering the beautiful album ‘Closing Time’ by Tom Waits who is soulfully growling away as I write this. 

Brilliant day and it’s only early! Who knows what the evening may bring.......?

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.