Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Replenishing ...

Thursday has suddenly become the key point in our week with the establishment of our shopping angel's appearance first thing in the morning. She texts me to say she's reached the head of the supermarket queue - this morning I was just out of my bed at the time - and then fires supplementary questions at me as she goes round: Ordinary rice? Petits pois? No Dettox ... A short while after the last communication (by which time I had my face on) she appears at our gate, marching up the path with a clutch of bags full. The courtly Dance of Distancing (rather like a Pavane, but with no touching) completed, she vanishes again, leaving us to unpack.

And that, O Best Beloved, is the truly stressful bit. Dettol wipes or soapy water? Paper towel or J-cloth? And a competition to see which of us washes hands more often in the course of this activity ... Paper and plastic wrap strews the floor as the food disappears into fridge and larder. It's the larder I'm blipping - when we bought the house it had a door with frosted glass panels in it, but that struck me as an impediment too far so we took the door off (and later gave it to a colleague who had need of it). It's not a huge space, but considerable ingenuity goes into accommodating everything that turns up. Note the bags of flour on the worktop at the far end - testimony to my new aspirations as a Domestic Goddess who makes her own bread all the time ...

Actually the only item of any interest is in fact the bread bin on the left, beside the red toaster. I inherited it from my grandmother; don't know what happened to my mother's as I've had this one ever since my children were small. There is a modern plastic one on the shelf above it - but it's never held bread. Work that out.

By midday we had recovered and I'd finally eaten my breakfast. Later we staggered out for a short walk, ending up coming home via the church where we actually had some live conversation with a friend who'd been cutting the grass in the graveyard. We stood several metres apart and bellowed at each other. I still feel life revolves round food and hand washing, but have managed at least to stay off irritating social media for a while.

Someone remind me to put salt on my shopping list next week?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.