Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

What good is sitting alone in your room?

Didn't fancy walking too far tonight, and when this gorgeous building is just around the corner who needs to go far?

The building was featured in the local paper a while ago, and If I remember correctly was built in 1931 (as an aside, the year my parents were born, which is why I remember it) and is designed folowing the 'Amsterdamse School' of architecture.
Not the only example in town, there is an exclusive estate to the east which is full of this style of buildings from that era.
This one was commissioned by the nuns (who lived in the nunnery in the same street).

It's still in use (as a school, I think) and is (quite rightly) a listed building.

I love the brickwork! Every time I walk past I think how daring it must have been in its time!

And as for the title of this blip, today whilst doing the hoovering I played the Cabaret cd.
The story, written by Christopher Isherwood is set in 1930's Berlin, a time of tension, a time of change, for the worst. At the time, the rest of Europe, had absolutely no idea of the horrors to come.

It's Holocaust day tomorrow, time to take time out and think, and ensure it never happens again.

Tenuous link, I know, but stll a link ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.