Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Zombies, Run!

I made it.

It got a bit tense back there, but I'm home and safe, and that's what matters.

As the day started, I found my self in a helicopter, flying low over the treetops, when out of nowhere we were hit by a rocket launcher. It was only a glancing blow, but it took out the rear rotor blade and we spiralled through the tree canopy, crash landing hard in the brackeny undergrowth.

Pulling my self from the wreckage, I realised I was the only survivor. Yet I could hear voices through the trees.

No, not voices.

Moans.

I ran.

I ran for miles towards an old hospital picking up medical supplies, tinned food and some clean underwear on my way.

Working my way through the ground floor of the building, I could see from the window a group of 'them' huddled in the car park.

Without pausing to catch my breath, I burst from the door and made a break from it. Never looking back. If I can run faster than a slow shambles, I should be ok.

And then I heard it. The sound of heavy breathing and pounding feet behind me.

I turned and saw her.

Still wearing her headset and uniform of a 'runner' - essential members of the community who volunteer to go beyond the walls and forage for supplies to bring back to the township to feed the survivors.

But now she was one of them.

She was a zombie. And she was gaining.

Picking up the pace I sprinted past the Cursal, past the Sea Life Centre towards the pier. The sun was out and there were dozens of people just milling about and enjoying the spring weather. Little did they know that just feet away was a man in his own private apocalypse. Flesh eating zombies just beyond arms reach behind him throwing them selves mercilessly after anything living for just one bite.

Past Adventure Island I ran, and under the pier, until I saw my chance.

Darting across the road, I ran headlong up the flight of steps which leads straight up Westcliff cliffs. Taking two at a time, I made it all the way to the top.

Pausing to catch my breath, I listened. The footsteps were gone - I'd survived.

This was no time to celebrate - I was starting to draw odd looks from families heading into town for a Saturday afternoon shop. And in any case, I wanted to put as much distance between me and my pursuers as I could. I jogged back the remaining 2 miles to a hero's welcome from the cat, and complete indifference from the two housemates who clearly have never heard of "Zombies, Run!"- the latest app for my phone, and a really very good training aid!

Highly recommended for any runners out there wanting to jazz things up a bit while putting in the miles! I'm going running again tomorrow to see what happens in chapter 2!

Wish me luck!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.