WeeChris

By WeeChris

A dog or a cheetah?

Well what a lovely day I've had. Saturday so a bit of a lie in then an indulgent breakfast; namely an omelette and a couple of large mugs of coffee. Then out with the dogs, and the blipper. Sun! Lashings and lashings of sharp winter sun: I could feel by body hungrily gobbling the rays, eagerly storing away the vitamin D. Magic.

Tallulah soon found another dog who wanted to chase about: he was a young crossbreed who looked a bit like a Basenji but in fact was bred from a German Shepherd and a Staffordshire Bull Terrier. He couldn't match Tally's speed of course which did make him a tad frustrated. Tally is such a wicked tease to other dogs - she can outrun almost all of them.

After that, a bit further into Hambrook Meadows, I spotted my first lambs of the year; three of them with the ewes in a tiny smallholding flock across the other side of the Stour river. Later we met some horses and ponies, and several birds beginning to believe in Spring - a very strident Great Tit amongst them.

When I got home I started to feel guilty because I had promised to do some hoovering and I knew I had quite a lot of work stacked up (I'm giving some courses of lectures in the next few weeks). Anyway I started on the hoovering but the bloody thing wasn't working properly. "RIGHT!" I thought, "I'm not going to let this plastic contraption beat me." Blasted Dyson, bugger your "no loss of suction" drivel." So I took the thing apart - found the problem - the rolling sweeper blade was utterly tangled with grime and hair - cut the tangle away with a scalpel (it's quite useful being a clinician in times like this), rebuild the hoover. IT WORKED!. So then I hoovered up two "tankfuls" of dirt.

Time for lunch.

Then two or three hours working on the lecture notes. I actually enjoyed this after all the displacement activity. AND I achieved a lot.

Then I went to collect Emily from the stables. As I drove there I realised this is the first Saturday since early November that I was not driving there in the dark. Just like the Great Tit I started to believe in Spring.

Emily has gone out. Denise and I have just had a glass of wine and watched the latest instalment of the AFRICA series on the box.

Now I have a dilemma. Do I get on with my lecture notes, or do I plitter about on Blipfoto for an hour? What would you choose?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.