Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Symbolism

The collection of symbols in my window seems to be growing at a rate which means I shall soon run out of window. We've got the Teddy for the bear hunt, the rainbow for hope and now last year's palm crosses for Palm Sunday. I wouldn't normally have last year`s as they are normally burned at the start of Lent to create the ash for Ash Wednesday, but this year I was in India so my crosses escaped the furnace! This evening I added to the collection too with my candle for the 7 o'clock prayer vigil.
It was Palm Sunday today so I joined in the online service from the SEC, today's was celebrated by the Bishop of Brechin, Andrew Swift. It was sad not to have our usual Palm Sunday Eucharist at church, it normally begins with the blessing of the palms and a procession around the church. Today was rather different.
After church I washed the kitchen floor and we hoovered and cleaned the ground floor generally. Yuck. I hate cleaning. I had to apologise to my daughters as I realised that in 45 years of marriage I had never before polished the bathroom scales... I think I need to get a life!

It was a lovely warm day today so after lunch I finished off tidying the junk corner in the garden. We've put an old pallet down and stored all our pots on top of it, all nearly arranged in size order!
I took delivery of a lovely collection of plants from Five Sister's Zoo. A local grower has arranged to supply them with plants and they are selling and delivering to try and raise money to keep the zoo going. It's a very special zoo, most of their animals are rescue from circus and the likes. They have a pride of male lions from a circus who were all castrated, declawed and had their teeth removed before being rescued, what a thing to do to the king of beasts.
I had my walk after dinner, it seems to help me settle down, we finished the evening with Vera, having realised just now that we missed the Queen's broadcast. Oops, is that considered treason .
I feel very disappointed in the Scottish Chief Medical Officer who has let us all down by breaking the rules. I had been so impressed by her up until now. I cannot imagine how the FM felt.

Stay well everybody and as the CMO said, do as I said not as I did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.