Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

The things I do for charity

Ten years ago, I did the Swimathon which for those that don't know is a sponsored swin in aid of Macmillan cancer relief. You could sign up to swim either 1.5km, 2.5km or 5km. As I didn't swim except on holiday, I signed up to do just 1.5km. However, on the day, I somehow managed to just keep going and finished the full 5km in what must have been a record (slow) time because there was no one left but me and my lap counter when I finished.

So, roll the clock forward ten years and I'm throwing the junk mail in the bin when I spot a leaflet for the 2013 Swimathon. I'm known to be impulsive, but usually only when it comes to buying things I don't need. However, on this occassion, my impulsive nature leads me to sign up to do the Swimathon again and this time, I've signed up for the full 5km from the outset! Yes, I'm an optimist as well.

I believe (or maybe its just hope) that I am fitter now than I was ten years ago. Only issue is that I probably swim less frequently now than I did back then, so I am going to have to do some training.

Fortunately I have persuaded the brother in law and nephew to do it as well. The brother in law will beat me by quite a margin as he can do front crawl whilst I'm limited to breast stroke. As for the nephew, he may only be 12 but he will leave us both for dead as he swims competitively and fully expects to be finished in 1 1/2 hours or less. Show off.

The drinks bottle and goggles in the picture were last used back in 2003 when I last completed the Swimathon. Looks like they have both seen better days, much like me :-)

Now, where did I put my speedos?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.