Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Deaths

Deaths in comic books are a dime a dozen, and usually meaningless. These two still get to me, quite powerfully.

Saddr; Flickr. - including the full-size image for anyone interested.

On the left, Ron Marz (writer) and Ron Lim (penciller) killing off Nova, in the pages of Silver Surfer vol3 issue 75. I hated Mr Marz for a long time after that - only forgiving him because he’s a hell of a writer.

On the right, Tom Defalco and Ron Frenz (both wrote; Frenz pencilled) killing off Eric Masterson (Thunderstrike). The pain...

And neither character has come back - which I really respect. (Nova seemed to come back, but it wasn’t really; Thunderstrike has had subsequent incarnation(s) but not Eric.) that leaves both deaths more poignant and meaningful than the usual (Jean blimmin’ Grey, I’m looking at you...).

The technical: I decided to have a crack at using pixel-shift resolution, since I had the camera on a tripod anyway. I had taken a normal shot first, and had a look at both zoomed in on my iPad. Clear difference, so I'll (try to) remember to keep pixel-shift in the repertoire. 

SMC Pentax-M 50mm f2 @ f/8; Pentax KP.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.