Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In celebration of Steve's life

The vicar of Humshaugh, Wark and Simonburn parishes has sadly died at the age of 55, after a diagnosis of a brain tumour. There will be a private funeral in the graveyard at Wark. 

Each of the churches has a tree decorated with ribbons from local people. Many carry messages or just names of those who wanted to give thanks for his life.

His obituary in the local paper ends: "He will be remembered as husband, father, parson and shepherd."

I passed the church on my daily walk and went on to the riverside north of Chollerford. I look every day for new wildflowers. Today I saw my first bluebell (remember that I live in the far north!) and my first cuckoo flower (that's Lady's Smock). Not long afterwards I saw my first orange tip butterfly (they feed on the cuckoo flowers). Up on the moors, not to many miles away, I would have listened for my first cuckoo too.

The wood anemones are still beautiful and I'm glad that the wild garlic has not flowered yet. The anemones still reign supreme. The marsh marigolds in the damp end of the wood by the river are increasing in number and look very cheerful.

I made soup from the remnants of last night's chicken, veg and stock. It was one of the best, but can never be repeated exactly!  

The Original Theatre Company have offered a couple of plays online. I'm in the middle now of The Habit of Art which is about WH Auden and Benjamin Britten. There is a play within the play. I will reserve judgement for after the second half.

Life in the Time of Covid 19
Please will someone explain to me why we are being given just the numbers of deaths in each country? It stands to reason that the USA will have more deaths than Italy because it has a much larger population. I want to hear how many deaths there are per 100,000 of the population.

I missed most of the news conference this afternoon. I thought it would not be a good move to have Priti Patel fronting it and I was correct. Defensive and inclined to blame the health workers. Matt Hancock also shot himself in the foot in his separate interview. 

I'm not impressed. They must stop sounding so defensive if they are to win our hearts and minds for the weeks and months ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.