Week 4 - Day 2 - a long walk

The week 4 day 2 bit is referring to my working from home days, in case you were wondering! So a reminder for me really. I’ll let you into a secret, when I did yesterday’s blip, I had to look back at last week’s to see if it was week 3 or 4. That is what this horrible situation has done to me - it is properly feeling like Groundhog Day now. But I do still feel grateful for living in such a beautiful part of the world, with miles of countryside in which to do my ‘daily exercise’ (something, I have to confess, that did not form part of my every day, before covid 19!) and grateful too for the lovely weather in which to do it.

So today ‘at work’ for me was much of the same. Jon had to go and survey a tree in a village the other side of Holt. He said the old man was sitting on his armchair at the junction of the road, ready to direct him when he arrived. Like so many villages, the houses were all names, no numbers, and not always easy to find.

Mollie and Henry, our two non workers, cycled up to the other end of the village at 11.15am where a mobile farm shop was due to be located for a while. They bought a few bits, just because it was something different to do. I think the most expensive lettuce, 8 bread rolls and a carton of fancy apple juice.... over £6!! It gave them something different to do, and was interesting to know he exists! The Village Van is his name, and he does the rounds of the villages, with quite a variety of produce. A great idea where there are no shops and lots of people less mobile, which our village is.

After work, I persuaded Jon to come on a bit of a ramble with me. I’m really conscious of how few steps I am doing each day at the moment. We walked out of the village across fields towards East Beckham ( where I took the photo of the sign) and then back into Gresham. About 4 miles and a really nice walk - and lots of steps!! We saw a muntjac deer and a hare, but mostly just lots of countryside. We plan to cycle further afield at the weekend.

Just planning a video chat with friends on WhatsApp for tomorrow. So great that there are all these different forums to keep in touch. I think once all ‘this’ is over, we will prove to be a more sociable and communicative society, as we will appreciate so much more how important staying in touch is. Well, I will anyway. Let’s hope we learn lots about ourselves - we certainly all have more time to think, if nothing else!

Going to pick up my jigsaw challenge again this evening....especially as Mollie has gone upstairs. My chance to catch up, or maybe even get ahead!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.