'Suspended Space'

Acrylic on found wood. The pieces of wood found washed up on the beach during one of my early morning sorties. The "title" hark at me,  it was the name of a music track playing while I was painting. Well today it took up it's new spot on the side of our garden shed.  I had to Look Up when I painted it, it was November 2014, also had to check how I'd hung it. It took me ages getting it exactly level when I hung all the bits in Thailand, then one of our jungle chickens, Archie, came into the house flew up and landed on one piece, taking off knocked a couple more. It actually looked better wonky. Story of my life!!  Hubby sent it home in one of the many boxes, & it's been in the shed up until now.
Earlier in the morning I had an appointment with a fellow allotmentee. Turns out Chris who I only got chatting to a couple of days back has a wormery. He inherited it with his plot about 8 years ago and has kept it going ever since .. Collecting liquid fertilizer created by the worms on a regular basis, I was quite keen to give it a go myself thinking I would have to send off for a supply of tiger worms, not your common or garden worm, but Chris has kept his bed/clew/bunch/clat ( I Looked Up the collective noun) alive through the winter months. He demonstrated how it worked .. So I inherited a wormery with my plot but I'd been making comfrey liquid fertilizer with mine.  He then mentioned that he had'nt been able to get any runner bean seed, well I had plenty so he suggested a swap .. 14 runner bean seed for a tub of tiger worms. My wormery is now at home at the top of the garden with my clew of tiger worms familiarizing themselves with their new surroundings. I love a barter. I had to Look Up the wormery set up on-line. The info very easy & straightforward. Now just have to wait.
I pricked out tomato plants, sowed more sweet pepper seed, then some Patty Pan & Ushiki Kuri squash seed went into pots. I planted up a metal container with nasturtiums seedlings, & a red salvia grown from cuttings. Hopefully making a nice hot combo when they flower. The winged bean just beginning to poke through the soil. There's a lot of jiggling about going on in the greenhouse at the mo ... Not quite enough room for everything that needs a bit of warmth.
The dragonfly solar lights did'nt last very long so I removed the dragonflies. I'll buy anther set of lights as they looked really pretty.
A late visit to the allotment to water the plants this afternoon as I had  a video chat with my MOT mates arranged. I sat in the late afternoon sunshine, looking across to Hay Tor with a coffee mug of cider in my hand having a  laugh with friends. Bliss!
Tucked the plants up for the night before making dinner, then watched Masterchef.

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting Abstract Thursday. I've done quite a lot of Looking Up today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.