The New Look

This is the new look coffee break for Lady Findhorn.
Gone is the sociable stop in a café with a barista pouring an Americano and chatting with me, and the possibility of having a scone or something maybe naughtier. Now it’s an instant coffee with Classic FM as a companion and 2 miserable rich tea biscuits on the side while I hallucinate about other more exotic possibilities.
How are the mighty fallen indeed!

I had a naughty 8am handover to EcoDad of a FairIsle hat and headband. It took place in the deserted square at the front of the Dower House and involved the well rehearsed dance of avoidance. It was good to speak to someone in the flesh but we both got so cold that I had to hug a hot water bottle when I got home to try and warm up.

I’m sitting now inside but watching the Meadows fill with people on the go. The police are very prominent in stopping people sitting on the benches or on the grass. It looks lovely in the sunshine but everyone is well wrapped up against that chill wind off the North Sea. The cherry trees are about to burst into flower but I suspect they are holding out for some warmer weather. 9° feeling like 7° is way too chilly- it’s warmer in December.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.