Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

This in 2m

It's going on for four weeks since I took the car out. I took a notion this morning to start it up to check the battery. Oh oh! Thanks be that my motor insurance includes breakdown assist, even more so since 'the guy' was nearby and got here even sooner than the fifteen minutes the dispatcher mentioned. We said a few prayers over the rather sick old battery and 'the guy' fitted a replacement there and then.

He said there'd be no need to keep the engine running or to take the car out for a bit of a spin, but I decided my peace of mind required that I take myself off to Sutton and Howth, to do a bit of shopping first and then to park the car and stretch the old neglected legs. I wandered around Howth harbour for starters and then went on to the Summit (where the car park was still blocked off after Easter weekend).

I strolled a bit along the hill trail, tut-tutting at the slovenly rubbish tip near the start (Extra) and noting the 2m indicator as I stepped onto the trail, then went on a nosey around the millionaire properties that are perched atop Howth Head, every one pointing towards the spectacular (though today very misty) view over Dublin Bay.

It was quite a thrill to spread my wings a bit after the weeks in my I'm-too-old cocoon. Back home I pointed myself at my bed, didn't wake again until 7pm, and spent the next ninety minutes or so weeding and tidying the front garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.