Background Highlights (MM326)

Well that was an interesting challenge - as I don't usually have any problems producing an out of focus image :-)

Doing it intentionally is, of course, another matter entirely!

These leaves grow from the stump of a tree cut down some time ago, the rest of the image is more distant trees, let to go our of focus.  I took the same image on a few aperture settings and decided I preferred this one for the pentagonal highlights. 

Had a fright this morning when I looked at the sensor on my 5D - I have seen a few dust spots recently but was surprised at the whatever it was stuck near the centre - pollen or a spot of mirror mechanism goop?  I did try a wet wipe but only appear to have smeared it across so rather than faffing about and risking damage I have ordered a 'sticky pad' sensor cleaner and I'll see what good that does.  Of course, I have also blown something onto the mirror or focussing screen which is now visible in the viewfinder.  Oh Joy :-)

I finished off a shelf I have been making for our shoes - much footering to get it to fit as I doubt the walls are parallel and sorting out where to start was interesting.  All done now, although there was a power cut this afternoon and the shelf pieces are oak - cutting it with a hand saw I now know why it is called a hardwood!

Thanks to Trisharooni for hosting mono Monday on the theme of out of focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.