Photogen

By Photogen

Cheeseboard

Today the weather here in Glasgow was lashing rain, definitely not a day for more scenic photography. At lunchtime, I got the idea of creating a still life, with the centrepiece my beautiful new cheese board (received as a Christmas gift).
It has rather a special history as it was made at Corbenic Camphill Community, near Dunkeld, Perthshire. This is part of the International Camphill Movement for social renewal through community living, based on the principle of living and working together for people with special needs. The community has opened a most attractive shop with cafe facility in Dunkeld village. The craft work is superb as I hope you can see from today's Blipfoto, and they make everything from cheese boards to chairs, and the prices are so reasonable.
I used natural overcast daylight falling on the wooden dining room table, arranged some cheese, red peppers for colour and a knife to create a diagonal, and angled the blade to pick up reflected window light. I had to brace my iPhone camera to hold it steady, using the special neck strap I have for it, as the shutter speed turned out to be only 1/20th second on this dull January day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.