GiselaClaire

By GiselaClaire

Money, money, money

After the unexpected expense of staying in Cairo, funds were running dangerously low so I was very happy to receive my December paycheck. We are paid by cheque in US dollars, which we then change into Israeli shekels in one of the many exchange shops dotted around Gaza.

This is my favourite exchange. It is run by an older man who, fittingly, looks a bit like Santa Claus. He also gives me a sweet with every exchange, and tells me stories about his daughter who is around my age.

The currency situation is somewhat strange in the Gaza Strip. Bank machines give out US dollars or Israeli shekels, and some even give out Jordanian dinars. The day-to-day currency is the shekel.

Now that Palestine has been officially recognised as a state by the UN, perhaps it is time to bring back a Palestinian currency?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.