things, bits & bobs...

By Nicpic

Male Emperor Moth

Yesterday, two female emperor moths emerged from chrysalis that were 2 years old. I couldn't bear to throw them away when they didn't emerge so I just left them in a plant pot. Much to my surprise and delight, two females emerged yesterday! About half an hour latersome whizzy males were flying around in a frenzy trying to locate the females so they could mate. The females give out a very strong pheromone so if there are any males anywhere near, they come. It was great to watch and mating did happen. 
The female emerges already full of eggs and too heavy to fly. She needs a male to do his stuff so that she can lay her eggs and fly away. This morning there was one male and one female still here but I can't find any eggs at all. It's a mystery! 

The extra is a song thrush with a worm from my walk this morning - very beautiful early morning it was too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.