a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Self Portrait with Guitar

Mono Monday - Self Portrait with Guitar

Hopefully this shot will meet the really requirements for this week's rather clever Mono Monday challenge set by Trisharooni, there is very little of my face showing :-)

As you can see I'm clutching my white '59 Strat.  I hasten to add that it is not an original '59, if it were it would be worth a fortune.  Instead it is reasonably modern a recreation of a Strat from that year made by a chap called Jason Smith, who works for Fender.  I absolutely love this guitar.  

When I bought the Strat it had already been artificially aged, although some of the dings and missing paint are now down to me not part of that original manufaturer's ageing process.  Why would anyone want to buy a battered old looking guitar?  Well in my case, I have over the years owned (and damaged) a series of beautiful "furniture" guitars.  Perhaps I am just clumsy, but its very difficult to take a guitar to  rehearsals and gigs and not end up with some "road wear".  With this guitar I am not worried if it gets another ding, it all just adds to the rather lovely worn, lived in character.

Rather like its owner really ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.