Diana F+

In 2008 I wandered into the modern art gallery shop in Melbourne and saw this little plastic camera on sale. I'd never seen or heard of the plastic medium format cameras before, and I realised that this was just the thing to get me out of the photographic doldrums. I'd been obsessing about perfect exposure and composition and using a tripod with every shot and worrying about sharpness and depth of field and clarity of film grain structure and so on, to the point where I was losing interest in making photographs. The plastic cameras free you from that and take you back to happy snapping and let's see what we get when the film is processed. I love the unpredictable nature of these cameras and the way they distort the subject.
This camera also has a pinhole built in. The photo of the Sydney Opera House is taken on the pinhole setting, and the other photo taken at Wentworth Falls in the Blue Mountains is shot with the lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.