Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

1968. Beatrix Potter Commemorative 50p

Thank you so much for your kind stars and hearts on yesterday’s image all were much appreciated.

Things are still a bit uncertain at home with my step daughter, we speak to her twice a day and yesterday drove to her flat and sat outside to talk to her...things were not good.  Thank goodness for social media at the moment because we can see when she’s online in the middle of the night and that’s always a bad sign.  She was on in the early hours of this morning so we’ll phone her much later today in case she’s sleeping just now.  It’s such a worry....

Today’s blip is my new Beatrix Potter commemorative silver 50p coin...it arrived last week and it’s so pretty and I particularly love the way it has been packaged so that I can display it rather than leave it sitting in a drawer.  I’ve had little to spend my money on recently (which is a good thing!) but decided that this one was worth buying as a keepsake.  We have ordered a few things online recently and although they are taking ages to arrive, it’s nice to get a surprise package every so often.  I’m not sure that they would be classed as essential because they’re not food or medicines but having things that you’d like in your home or garden (or in our case, balcony) lifts our mood immensely.  Apart from food shopping we are spending very little at the moment although hubby has complained that our utility bills are higher than normal because we’re at home and also I’m cooking every day which we didn’t always do preferring to have lunch out a few times a week.  I have cooked a meal from scratch every day for the whole of the lockdown and I have thoroughly enjoyed it too!  Hubby is cooking today to give me a break which will be nice.  He always prepares our sandwich in the evening but lunch is usually my job.  We haven’t been near the town for weeks now so this morning we’re going to walk into town for our exercise, I’m expecting it to be deserted, at least I hope it will.  Wore my mask for the first time yesterday whilst shopping and it was ok...not great but I’m doing what I’ve been advised to do.  I’m tired and last night I managed to sleep all night which is the first time in days.  I don’t want to take anything to help me sleep but not sleeping days on end is a real strain.  But...it’s a new day...the sun is shining and hopefully it will be a better day than yesterday....that’s all I can hope for.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.