Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The F word

The F word has been used a lot in our household during lockdown. I am of course referring to food and not whatever else your mind was thinking. Today after our morning walk with Xena we had a lovely BBQ lunch - Gavin made some chicken kebabs which were superb - he first marinated the chicken before we left for our walk, and then spend some time assembling the kebabs after we got back. I made a quinoa salad, which has become a family favourite. It is made with peppers, peppadew, pomegranate and also (dairy fee) feta cheese crumbled in to it and mixed all together with a lemon dressing.

The other F word may have been used when I read yet another sensationalist and controversial article in The Telegraph. Throughout this C-19 crisis so far they have been prolific in publishing some ridiculous articles. Yesterday's front page headlines were that the virus is not airborne and so social distancing is a waste of time. There is still much to learn about this virus, but the chance of it not being transmitted by air is pretty slim I would say.

As we enter our 7th week of lockdown there are so many articles being written about how things will be as we exit from lockdown. I guess we just have to wait for Thursday when the Prime Minister will be announcing any changes to our situation. I did have a chuckle over an article in The Economist about business travel from now on - I could not share the link as it is on subscription only, so I have taken an image of the article which is in the extras - do read it if you feel like having a laugh, but you will stop laughing when you realise that this is how it could actually be!

I enjoyed watching Fisherman's Friend on TV last night (thank you David for the recommendation) If I cannot get to Cornwall this summer at least this film took me there for a couple of hours.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.