Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Lockdown Day 41 - Christmas In May

Yesterday I mentioned that my friend Rhod was ‘addicted’ to custard. To him a dessert or pudding wasn’t a pudding unless it was swimming in a sea of custard. It didn’t really matter WHAT the pudding was as long as it had custard all over it. And it had to be hot. No cold banana custard or even trifle.

So I always made sure I had something on hand for when he sometimes came over for dinner. There’s a sticky toffee pudding in the freezer. And I remember telling him early this year that I had bought two mini Christmas puddings while they were still in the shops, and we could enjoy them the next time he came over for a meal. ‘Splendid’ was his reply, if I remember! He and I both enjoyed ‘Christmas’ pudding any time of year!

I’d seen him since then, but not at my house for a meal. And so I decided this evening to indulge in one of the Christmas puddings with custard, in memory of my dear friend. This wouldn’t have been enough custard for him - I always let him have 2/3 of the packet or pot, and I was happy with the rest. He STILL often asked if there was any more custard to finish up!

In the early days of him being in the hospital, before he was in ICU, and when he was struggling so much to eat, he was enjoying a few spoonfuls of NHS custard, and he said it was very delicious. In fact he said that all the food was good, even though he couldn’t manage much.

It’s been a surreal day. It was a shock when I woke up and realised what had happened yesterday. But I received lots of lovely messages and a couple of phone calls and I even found flowers and cards on my doorstep from several friends. Two work colleagues dropped off flowers and a bottle of wine - ‘Lock Keeper’s Reserve’. Very appropriate based on my canal trip story from yesterday!

I joined in with our online church service and Zoom chat afterwards, and then watched part of the service from Rhod’s church, where they gave him a loving tribute. It was a grey day but I managed a walk in a colourful place. See Extra photo.

I’m feeling sad but also very loved. Rhod was loved by SO many people who are grieving every bit as much as I am and probably more. But the kindness of my friends has meant so much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.