Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Tolkien

I seem to have been very busy today, achieving absolutely nothing. I really hope that I won't ever post a worse photograph than this anywhere, but this is the only one I managed today, and if I had looked at it properly before late evening I woud have tried to get something better!

My father was an enthusiast for Tolkien's writings, back in the 1950's, but I'm afraid I never got on with the books, though I did buy the cassettes shown here in 1992, more as an acknowledgement of the my father's interest (he died in 1987) than out of any personal enthusiasm. Of course, Tolkien has become very popular on film more recently (though the films I have seen seem to diverge considerably from the books). The latest film goes back to The Hobbit, and has not got very good reviews in terms on the content (too long?), and the use of an unusually high frame-rate. I've no intention of watching it, so I can't comment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.