If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Tulip

This morning I declared I wasn't going to blip a flower, instead I would do a neck feather from the Cock Pheasant (the territorial dispute had dislodged some).   The astute among you will notice this isn't a feather!   My attempts at photographing the feather didn't, as my daughter would say, "spark Joy". During the day I happened to look into this tulip which is almost "over", I have never seen the inside of a tulip anything like it.

This evening we had signed up for a on-line talk (for members) by the reserves officer for Fowlshaw Moss Cumbria Wildlife Trust Reserve.  The subject was Ospreys,he had been working at Rutland during the re-introductions there and now has them nesting on the reserve.   Ospreys hold a special place for me, back in the 70s when I used to volunteer on the Insh Marsh reserve near Aviemore one of our jobs was spending nights in a derelict cottage.  We were keeping watch with the incase anybody tried to rob the nest a couple of hundred yards away.  At that time there were less than 20 pairs nesting in Scotland.  Now there are about 350 spread through the UK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.