VE75

A beautiful day on which to remember the seventy-fifth anniversary of the end of WWII in Europe and the heroic wartime generation to whom we owe so much. MrQ has been reminiscing all day. He was thirteen and lived not far from the Arsenal stadium. He went with his family on the Tube to Buckingham Palace where he pressed against the railings to see the King, Queen and Winston Churchill. A family friend played MrQ's George Formby ukulele during the Tube journey.

I'm a bit sad that lockdown prevented me from travelling to photograph the Red Arrows and the Spitfires.

I decked the gate with union flags and Ollie dog and I went for a walk down the field. I found a lovely bright red cardinal beetle and that gave me the idea of doing a red, white and blue blip. Shortly afterwards I found a lone bluebell on the bank of the lake. I've missed visiting bluebell woods in lockdown and this gave me a fillip. :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.