My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

The best birthday present

Today was the day that Louisa and the boys came home. It also happened to be Louisa's birthday.

I had a couple of hours to get the house decorated and birthday cake iced before they came over, so that nearly everything was ready. Holding Owen for the first time in 6 weeks was very strange at first, he's squishy and wriggles about a lot. But it was so nice to have that first physical contact with everyone again, I even got a hug from Aaron. Then Louisa took Owen over to nursery for an induction in case we need to use them while I applied the finishing touches.

Unfortunately not all of Louisa's presents and cards actually arrived in time so it was a little curtailed in that sense. It just means the celebrations will be longer. But the important bits; cake, decorations, chocolates, flowers, and at least one silly present were all present and correct, so we were good to go. Presents opened and celebrations started we decamped to the garden to barbecue, play*, and generally chill out*. It really was lovely to have that time together again and be able to be a proper family again. I'm sure there'll be lockdown/pandemic changes to come but for today this is heaven.

Happy Birthday xxx

Louisa's lockdown playlist:
(I've Had) The Time Of My Life - Bill Medley & Jennifer Warnes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.