Really amazes me!

A lot of Union Flags (aka Union Jack) have been flying this week because of VE75 but many of them wrong e.g. upside down.
I have a huge 'Bee in my bonnet' about the Union Flag being flown upside down and am always amazed when people ask me how I know, and does it matter! 
Yes, it does matter, it's not only wrong but at sea the Union Flag, or Union Jack at sea, flying upside down is a signal that the ship is in distress of some sort.
I was taught this sort of thing in the Cubs and Scouts when I was a boy but I've even come across scouts, and people that have been Scouts, who have no idea about this.

I took F.M.i.L. to the cemetery this morning as I was going to water the flowers I put in two days ago. On the way we saw two Union Flags fluttering in a garden, the same garden. One was right and one was wrong but when I mentioned it to Betty she didn't have any idea what I was talking about. When we got back I took down the bunting and explained to her but I still don't think she gets it. 

Looking at the pictures the white vertical stripe on the left is the flagpole.

Correct - At the top, closest to the flagpole, the broad white stripe is at the top. On the 'fly' part of the flag (the bit that flaps) the top white stripe is narrow.

Wrong - bottom picture shows the top white stripe nearest the flagpole is narrow, this is the Union Flag upside down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.