The Singer of Songs: Wood Thrush

This is the time of year when a vast array of birds parade past our windows and visit our feeders in central PA. I've been watching the birding and photography groups on Facebook, and there are some amazing birds being spotted. So keep your eyes peeled, your camera handy, and your feeders clean and full!

This is a bird I've been seeing around our yard this spring. It is a wood thrush. I have heard it - ALWAYS, ALWAYS heard it - singing its sweet, flute-like song in the woods. My husband and I actually have a name for it: "The Tweedle-Eedle Bird." Yes, I know. It's amazingly scientific!  ;-)

This bird was hanging out on the ground at the edge of the woods when I was sitting in the car with Dexter in our driveway after supper. I have started taking my camera along on those jaunts because sometimes it's my only "travel" for the day.

(Yeah, so exciting: sitting in the front seat of the car, with the engine off. Someday, maybe we'll actually GO somewhere!)

So here is the local wood thrush, the singer of beautiful melodies. I think this song is fitting: Barry Manilow, with I Write the Songs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.