Spillway, in Monochrome

I've been meaning to post this photo of a spillway along Spring Creek since December first. On that day, my husband and I were out and about, visiting several local recreational areas, trying to find a safe place to hike during deer season. But the picture I ended up posting on that day was NOT a shot of the spillway, but rather a picture of my husband relaxing on a bench, contemplating the meaning of life.

Since then, I've been back to this site along Spring Creek many times, usually first thing in the morning before work. Each time, I take this shot in mono. One time, I even captured the spillway with a bright orange pumpkin in the water. (No, I do not know the story behind that one. I'm just the photographer. The pumpkin was there when I got there, and whatever its story was, it wasn't telling.) Each time, I end up posting something different to blip. :-) Here is a short list of pictures taken right around this same place:

Tuesday 4 December 2012: Blue Canyon

Thursday 10 January 2013: The Valley of the Low, Low Sun

Wednesday 23 January 2013: Winter's Flowers

And finally, on this date, I took the shot in monochrome . . . again. And finally, the full-on spillway shot is the one I'm actually posting. Hooray! It took me almost two months to get this one out of my system. To make it look even more dramatic, I bumped contrast, definition, and sharpness all the way up. I hope you enjoy this mono spillway shot. It's been a long time coming!

And a song to accompany the flood of water over the spillway? How about this one: Carly Simon's Let the River Run, which first appeared in the film Working Girl in 1988, and won Simon an Oscar, a Golden Globe, AND a Grammy.

And, yes, there's a lot of 80s big hair in the linked video. They surely blew the budget for that movie on the mousse line item alone. Those were the days of high style: as an undergrad at Penn State during the early to mid 80s, I remember bopping around campus listening to my Sony Walkman cassette player, wearing a long pink tunic top, lavender leggings, pink-blue-and-purple leg warmers, big white hi-top Reeboks on my feet (also great for aerobics, of course!), lots-and-lots of shiny, tasty flavored gloss on my lips, and pink sparkly mousse in my hair. Shh, don't tell anybody I was an 80s fashion victim.

And here's a bit of perspective: the fashions may have changed, but the soundtrack to my life has not. Only now, the collection has made it onto a tiny, pink iPod shuffle. We got the beat, baby! Yeah!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.