The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Lockdown Day 56

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

The Youngest Mini Princess was having a bagel for lunch today and The Eldest Mini Princess aired her dislike of them.

The reason? She doesn’t like food that lies to her - bagels look like doughnuts but don’t taste sweet.

Included on her “devious foods” list are fishcakes and caramelised onions.

She has always been like this. When she was a toddler, I told her I was making fishcakes for dinner and her face lit up with joy. This came as a huge relief to me after countless dinner battles and I gave myself a metaphorical pat on the back for having nailed parenting.

Turned out that she only heard one part of “fishcake.” And it wasn’t the “fish” part. The realisation that we weren’t having cake for dinner was like a tsunami of disappointment and the fishcakes were rejected out of hand.

I hope she never comes across sweetbreads!

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.