Small Places

By PicLocata

A dark day

For the first time we walked around Perth's South Inch and back through the empty city centre. It was interesting to see the contrast between the shops - many frozen in time and apparently abandoned, some emptied of stock, and some independents showing new window displays with encouraging messages.

The sculpture illustrates a poem by William Soutar "Nae Day Sae Dark". But it seems pretty dark to me. More than a suspicion in the papers that government hesitation at the start of the crisis lead to thousands of unnecessary deaths. One estimate I have seen is that 30,000 would have been saved by an earlier lockdown.

On top of that, the PM's appalling defence of Cummings. If there should need to be another lockdown, how can he possibly expect everyone to follow his direction? I though the government had reached the limit of its ability to annoy me a week or so ago, but I was wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.