Dancersend

By Dancersend

Hope I'm not too late!

Just been unpacking the equipment to make myself an actinic Skinner moth trap. Horribly ironic that I'm doing this on the day Butterfly Conservation have launched their shocking report on The State of Britain's Larger Moths - see http://t.co/30dDNW5n . The report says that two-thirds of common and widespread larger species (macro-moths) declined in the last 40 years. The losses in abundance were much greater in the southern half of Britain than the north. Some once common garden species such as the V-moth, Garden Tiger and the Spinach have decreased by more than 90% from 1968-2007 and now face the real threat of extinction in the future.

I hope that once I get operational I'm not just adding more data to demonstrate further declines.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.