An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Circle of Confusion...

Had a great walk yesterday, out in the open farmland, bordering Salisbury Plain - fresh air, sunshine, but I'd already had a Blip up by then.

Hoping for something similar today but in another area, was waiting - and waiting for the sunshine that was promised - and has only just (sort of) come about.

Don't know if I'm coming down with something or what, but feel really off-colour (& not just from looking at this one....) but this is as far as I got - the local lending library, where I rent the occasional DVD. Three for two on a Friday, for a week. Don't get the latest (get those sooner or later on Sky Movies) but three 'kitchen sink' dramas from the 60's - and not the well-known ones, either. They all have the running theme of single factory- working girls getting pregnant - a whole movie, that'd get five minutes in Eastenders, these days! That's my weekend sorted.

The pic - is with the 8mm Sigma circular fisheye, that I've only blipped once before, that is it being on a full-frame DSLR, to get the full, 'bit in the middle' effect.

Feeling naff and hearing footsteps coming down these stairs (mother and kiddies) I took this in a hurry - and it was quite crooked. The positive clank from the bigger mirror of the D700 echoed about the place and so I didn't hang around for another. In editing, it's not possible to crop a circular image, without it being obvious, only the 'canvas' around it. In the end, it required 12 degrees of rotation, which left the white margins.

Taking an idea that it might help accentuate the pattern within and that that pattern might replicate the iris (aperture blades) of a partly stopped-down lens, I thought I'd leave it - as I am (supposedly) poorly and do have 'Up The Junction' to watch!

One advantage with the square format is that it the Blip thumbnail won't crop anything out.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.