Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Honesty, honestly!

When I first moved to this house the garden was a very uninspiring place with narrow borders filled with a purple-flowering plant I took to be a weed because of its prolific nature and therefore pulled up assiduously. Over the years the garden has improved and at the same time I've become more relaxed about so-called 'weeds'. This one, the one with the purple flowers, is Honesty, genus Lunaria. Its very familiar to everyone because of its distinctive seed pods - I of course had only ever seen the seed pods and didn't relate it to the purple flowers at all. Luckily in that first year my weeding skills were so poor that enough of the plants survived the massacre and I realised my mistake. Now I just pull them out if they're growing somewhere I'd prefer they didn't. And in the flowering season I cut the flowers for the house. Much easier!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.