SILLY SATURDAY

I decided last night that I would get up early and go for my walk to the garage to buy the morning papers - one for us and the other for our lovely next-door neighbours, so I was out by 7.15. 

Of course, I was taking photographs all the way - and listening to some uplifting music and singing too, which I enjoyed.

Just as I arrived at the garage, a police car pulled in and the driver got out.  He followed me along the path towards the newspaper stands, so I moved out of his way, as he was obviously on a mission!  As he came closer to me, I had my phone on my selfie stick and he remarked that I was more techie than his Mum and laughed.  With that, I put the phone up in front of me, quickly changed it to the selfie view and asked him to get in on the shot.  He laughed again and then struck a pose - so here he is - for Silly Saturday.  The best is yet to come though.

I asked him his name and he told me it was Kuy - so I asked if that was spelled “Kai” to which he said, “No, it’s K.U.Y and backwards it spells Y.U.K.”, which made me laugh then.

Off he went into the garage shop and came out a couple of minutes later with a cup of coffee - saying as he passed me - still physically distancing, I might add, “Need my morning cup of coffee to get me going!”

What a lovely young Police Officer and good of him to pose for me - only half of me showing but I had to take this shot quickly.  

It’s hard sometimes to keep our sense of humour, especially amid all the conflicting messages we are receiving about going out, meeting others, enjoying seeing friends again and generally doing what’s best - but this morning has lifted my spirits.  I may go out for another walk later - I think Mr. HCB will be busy in the garden for most of the day, so I can do my own thing.  I still need to sort out my 20,000+ photographs on my Macbook but I’m waiting for a rainy day to do that.  

Have a great weekend and stay safe, whatever you choose to do.

“Life is way too short, 
     so try to enjoy every minute of it 
          with a sense of humor!” 
Christina Scalise, Are We Normal?

P.S.  For those who are interested, there is a stream, though not sure it is live, of Handel's Messiah on Youtube at 7.30 p.m. BST tomorrow evening.  I'm sure it will be available after the event, but I guess getting 3,600 choral members of a choir together + musicians, is no mean feat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.