Beefy Lorelei

By beefylorelei

I got wood...

These are woodturning bowl blanks.

In an attempt to make a little more this year I have come to the conclusion this simply means more hard work. So I bought these.

I'm a brat. If I am going to do more work then I need to get something beyond financial gain. In order to sustain my interest it needs to be work on something I enjoy and satisfy a creative need too.

47kgs of ash, beech, sycamore, apple, wild cherry, oak, scots pine and yew for a start, will hopefully do the trick.

With the wee bit of cash I seemed to accumulate I really wanted to buy a long over due set of valves for my old Marshall amp. After talking to the nice folks at Watford Valves I became aware that I'd need between £150-200 for something close to how of like my amp to sound. So I was short. Instead if just topping up what I had I thought I'd use it to speculate.

I'd like to turn (cough) these into beautiful bowls and try to sell them at an event Daisyglaisy hosts later in the year. Actually want to do twice a many as the 20 pieces shown here. Depends how long it takes me to do these and how many fingers I chop off. I'm well known for having scratches, plasters, bruises and chunks out of my hands. Need to be more careful as a guitar player really!

They smell fantastic! I can't wait to see what I can find inside them.

Thanks for looking.

B

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.