HClaireB

By HClaireB

Pheasant chicks

I was surprised this morning by a hen pheasant who hurled out of the undergrowth and stood about 3 feet from me hissing.  They normally melt away when they see me.  It took me a few seconds to realise that the reason was several chicks tumbling around in the grass behind her.

Later in the day she brought them out under the seed feeder - 7 in total.  We have had odd pheasants in the garden for 30 years underneath seed feeders, but I've never seen chicks before, just failed eggs.  I'm sorry the photo is a bit blury but I decided to stay a long way away and the chicks are tiny and fast moving.

A few minutes after this (after I had put my camera away of course) I saw the cock pheasant see off an equally surprised squirrel.  They normally just warily avoid one another.  I also hadn't expected the cock pheasant to defend his little brood.  My opinion of him rises.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.