MONO MONDAY - IMPROMPTU

Impromptu - done without being planned or rehearsed

I didn’t intend going out into the garden this morning to look for a Blip but Mr. HCB wanted my opinion on where he had put certain plants so it was an "impromptu wander" for me and  while I was out there, I spotted the first roses on our Compassion rose bush.  This is very special to us as it was given to us when we were baptised almost twenty years ago by our special friends, Pete and Angie.  

Angie died a few years ago, but I am always thrilled when this rose blooms again, because it reminds me of our friendship and the special times we had together.  I remember on one occasion, when we went to stay with them one weekend, that I was very upset about something and Angie sat on the bed next to me whilst I cried and just waited.  Then she put her arms round me and said to me in her beautiful, soft voice “You will get over this, with God’s help, because you are not just an overcomer, but you are a conqueror!”  I have never forgotten those words so whenever I feel that something is particularly difficult, I think of Angie and her wise words.

Mr. HCB decided to water the garden this morning, as we still haven’t had any rain and I thought the open rose looked beautiful - but do wish those were raindrops and not just water drops from the hose.  However, I decided to turn it into a black and white shot for Mono Monday - but so that you can see its full beauty, I have put the colour version in as an extra.

I went for my usual walk and sing, leaving Mr. HCB pottering in the garden - it’s a very hot day again, so I guess it’s lunch outside.  I wonder if you managed to watch "The Messiah" by the Isolation Choir on Youtube last night - it was amazing and I’m sure that there will be a re-run and everything will be in sync next time - but considering that there were 3,600 choral singers plus the orchestra to meld together, I think the organisers did a fantastic job.  

“The optimist sees the rose 
     and not its thorns; 
the pessimist stares at the thorns, 
     oblivious to the rose” 
Kahlil Gibran

I wonder if you can guess which one I am? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.