Sad

Got up at 5 when there is less demand for the internet and managed to upload yesterday's. And now today's too.

A highlight of this trip was to be the large rock covered in gold leaf perched precariously on top of a mountain and held from toppling, so it is said, by one hair of the Buddha. Getting there involved a long journey from Yangon, a bouncing ride in a truck - 35 people crammed onto seven 15cm-wide tightly spaced planks - to part way up the mountain, then a hard steep walk up the rest which took me a strenuous hour (though fitter people do it in less).

All the way up are stall-holders, trying to ply the walkers with coke, tea, noodles, samosas. Many of the stalls, like this one, have superb views over the mountains but no customers.

When I finally got to my expensive hotel at the top (I'd decided to stay up there for Lonely Planet's promised spectacular sunset and sunrise) I discovered that the Golden Rock is spending 20 days being restored and is completely covered in matting. Not visible. I tried to console myself that for 1075 days in each 3 years tourists get to see just a much-photographed golden rock but only those of us who arrive in these special 20 days get to see the matting, but it didn't really work. And the sunset was unspectacular.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.