Playing Possum

As I was waiting for the coffee to finish dripping and idly looking out the kitchen window, I saw a very large skunk amble from right to left across the patio. How bright and handsome he was, with his funny dancing gait, and I ran for the camera, then tiptoed quietly out into the yard. Quite a large animal had completely vanished. Boo hoo, back in the house and at my post by the window once again. Subtle movement up on the patio roof--something is in the kiwis, snuffling around and munching. Quick, camera, run upstairs, out on the deck, no time to even focus. It was a possum, now coming headfirst down the trunk of the kiwi, and making a steady path to the hole in the gate. You can't see it here, but his paws are pink and match his bright nose. Through the gate, under the fence and down the neighbor's lawn to the overgrown alley. It absolutely made my day to see two creatures out back in the space of maybe five minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.