Winter sunrise in Grafton Gully

I woke an hour later than I wake during the working week, the sky was clear, S was still sleeping. I changed and went out for a jog. Wasn't sure where I would go, and at Ponsonby Road corner decided to go straight ahead into K Road. At the corner with Symonds Street, I made the decision to not cross Grafton Bridge and went left and downhill towards the university. Lost sight of the imminent sunrise, and decided to head downhill to the right down the side of Grafton Gully, and got onto the Grafton Gully Cycleway (which also caters for pedestrians). 

From the cycle path I could see towards where the sun would rise. A couple of photos before passing under Grafton Bridge eventually were outclassed by a photo back to the bridge, at the point where the newly risen sun was visible. Between the bridge and the harbour misty rain gave an eerie feel to the view. 

Turning the photo into a panorama format seemed obvious, and was more or less all that I did to the photo before posting it.

I surprised myself by waking when I did, as I had stayed awake reading the third in the Shetland series by Ann Cleeves. I have finished it today. Thoroughly enjoyable. Because I'm not a resident, and have only visited once, many of the places she names and escribes are in my memory and there is pleasure in being able to picture the action to an extent. The incorrect bits pass me by, whereas they would likely jar as sometimes a book set in New Zealand jars, because it is just wrong.

I'm reading these books on the kindle app on my iPad. S has them and we have shared all her books, meaning that I can download them for free. So Amazon gets no more money for me accessing them.

However, I recently ordered a small hardback recent reissue of a book by Viktor Frankl; his lectures shortly after WWII ended. I paid for that. Today I learned that the head of Amazon has had a huge increase in his recorded wealth over the time of the Pandemic, while at the same time underpaying and mistreating his employees.

This produces great ambivalence in me. It is not a book that would be likely to be found in the local bookshop. And I really want it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.