NinjaShoe

By NinjaShoe

Shop, Cook, Eat

About a year ago I realised that my parents were surviving on a diet of eggs and pizza.  Ready made pizza-for-one for my Dad and an egg a day for my Mum.  They were not thriving on it.

Turns out as the disease took a firmer grip my mum lost all interest in eating, let alone cooking, and my Dad is from that generation of men that never learned to cook at all.

Since the discovery my sisters & I try to keep their fridge and freezer stocked with interesting and appetising food, so this photo is from today's trip to the Supermarket.  Essentially Mum shops with a "basics" list and I fill up the trolley with ready meals and yummy looking items that I hope will tempt them to eat a balanced diet.

Today for the first time  I noticed that Mum was struggling to interpret what was written on the list to what she needed to get.

Later whilst I cooked up vast quantities of  bolognese (destined for the freezer), & rustled up a delicious lunch ...James went to a different shop with his Grandad and took on the roles of:

1. i-pod purchase consultant
2.transfer-of-CD-music-to-I-pod trainer
3. wireless modem installer

We left my Dad SINGING around the house as he was so thrilled to have his technology sorted!

It is really good to have felt so useful today!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.